MySpace vs Facebook

Click the link to see the source of the picture.

Click the link to see the source of the picture.

Ok, so by now most people prefer Facebook to MySpace.

I know I am one of them. I will also admit that it took me some time to even get into the idea of  social networking. It was not until, about two years ago that I even started a MySpace account, and I did not get on Facebook until July of this year, even though I had many friends telling me to make  switch. Now I prefer Facebook to MySpace. I guess I should have listened to my friends earlier, anyway, I still go on MySpace from time to time because I still have friends who have not made the switch to Facebook and I still want to keep in contact with them.

Now the whole point to this blog is the fact that I was on MySpace this morning and I must have had at least five pop-up ads come across my screen, within the 10 to 15 min period I was on there. This was annoying and again they were the ads that move and you have to find the tiny, tiny, (x) to get rid of them.

Are the ads becoming crazier on MySpace because of the decline of users to MySpace? The New York Times ran a story in May about the decline of users to MySpace and how MySpace has rearranged their corporate end of the company so they can revamp the sight. Most of MySpaces’ revenue comes from Google and their contract is up sometime in 2010. Some are even predicting that Facebook will surpass MySpace in advertising in 2011. Which I feel could definitely be an accurate prediction.

Hide-and-seek pop-up  ads are so annoying to me and I hope others will voice their opinions about these annoying ads we have popping up on our screens. And if any of my friends on MySpace, that I’m not friends with on Facebook, have a Facebook account let me know so I can just see you on Facebook and can leave MySpace and their pop-up ads alone.

I also hope Facebook pays attention, now, and realizes how annoying the pop-up ads are and leaves them alone. What do you think of the pop-up ads we now have on web sites?

3 Comments

Filed under opinion with facts

3 responses to “MySpace vs Facebook

  1. Hey Christina, happy to see you’re letting Twitter post for you. It’s so much easier.

    Oddly enough, more people are on Facebook, but people spend more time on average on Myspace. Here is a link to the article I read.

    I don’t know how far into news you want to reach with social networking, but I know a lot of companies are banning social networking from their servers (more recently the Marine Corps, which is how I found out about this development.) There might be something there for you to examine.

    Happy blogging :)

    p.s. I love the category “opinion with facts,” that’s the core of what blogging is, in my opinion.

  2. Thanks for the idea om banning in the work place love the idea

  3. vbragg1

    Myspace recently made me change to their new layout. I have been using the classic layout ever since i had a myspace. some time last year, they changed teh home page look, but still, kept the classic one for those folks who didn’t want to make the change. Just last week, I signed on and it told me classic is no longer an option. I don’t even understand how to use myspace anymore. Bascially I just sign in, but never do anything with it. With facebook, I am always chatting with people or changing my status. Facebook is a lot more easy.

Leave a Reply

